Marginalia, no.277

Happy are they whom privacy makes innocent, who deal so with men in this world, that they are not afraid to meet them in the next, who when they die, make no commotion among the dead.

~ Sir Thomas Browne, Hydriotaphia, or Urne-Buriall

A beatitude of anonymity. I am torn, day to day, between the comical lust for my name to live on the lips of future generations (for what accomplishments, I don’t know), and the more comfortable ambition of passing unremarked into death and fertilizing some convenient tree. I like most trees better than I like most people.

1 Comment

Filed under Marginalia

One response to “Marginalia, no.277

  1. We cannot hope to live so long in our names, as some have done in their persons, one face of Janus holds no proportion unto the other. ‘Tis too late to be ambitious….The greater part must be content to be as though they had not been, to be found in the Register of God, not in the record of man.

Leave a comment