Marginalia, no.341

But she had been a person to him, and the unbearable pathos of details and habit stabbed him with all the small daggers of bereavement.

~ G.K. Chesteron, ‘The Eye of Apollo’ (from The Innocence of Father Brown)

Early this week I learned of the death of D.G. Myers. He was an occasional reader of this blog, which I considered a great compliment. I was a very dedicated reader of his, which was no compliment at all but only his due. I didn’t really know him. I knew only that part of him which he communicated by words. Looking over those words again I nonetheless feel the small daggers of his loss. He was a person to me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marginalia

Leave a Reply

