Marginalia, no.320

Sleep is the most moronic fraternity in the world, with the heaviest dues and the crudest rituals. It is a mental torture I find debasing… I simply cannot get used to the nightly betrayal of reason, humanity, genius.

~ Vladimir Nabokov, Speak, Memory

Perhaps it’s because I have no genius to betray, but I side with those others who call Sleep blessed. Anyway, sleep is not without intelligence. Many times I’ve set myself a knotty problem before bed and woke next morning to find it magically unraveled, like the shoemaker whose work was finished overnight by the elves.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marginalia

Leave a Reply

