Marginalia, no.299

Now Jove, in his next commodity of hair, send thee a beard!

~ Shakespeare, Twelfth Night III,i

You wouldn’t think it to behold my rugged, bearded visage today, but once upon a time I presented to the world something less than a vision of omnipotent masculinity. Age sixteen, I recall, someone told me there was a loose thread dangling from the sleeve of my T-shirt. “Oh, sorry,” he corrected himself, “I guess that’s just your arm.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Marginalia

Leave a Reply

