Marginalia, no.249

Every man chooses to be present at the shaving of his own beard (though there is no rule without an exception)…

~ Laurence Sterne, Tristram Shandy

I’ve had this beard for more than two years, though I keep it fairly short. I might have shaved it off a hundred times already except that when my children see fresh-faced photos of the former me they point and laugh and tell me I looked “ridiculous.” I think it was Meister Eckhart who said that desiring something was the same as possessing it. I doubt he counted smooth cheeks among his own desiderata. But I believe that somewhere in the mind of God or an alternate universe I’m contentedly shaving my beard this very minute. I may even be humming ‘What a Wonderful World’ …or ‘Surrey with the Fringe on Top.’ I can’t be sure which one because I’m not present for it.

2 Comments

Filed under Marginalia

2 responses to “Marginalia, no.249

  1. tovarishsukhov

    I don’t know about the Curator Moniarum (although maybe in the end he didn’t truly hold that charge), but I sometimes think the way you do: http://athanasius.tumblr.com/post/13588209537/ecco-questo-sono-io-dentro

  2. tovarishsukhov

    The link doesn’t work anymore. Voilà the new one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kyC_eJvoHqI

Leave a Reply

