Marginalia, no.202

Keys yearn to mix with change.

~ Nathanael West, Miss Lonelyhearts

When you buy a ticket for the commuter train that runs up and down the San Francisco Peninsula, you get your change in dollar coins. Once a week on my lunch break I grab a handful and shove them into my pocket. They tinkle against my keys as I walk into the used bookshop downtown. Today I picked up a John McPhee book and read, on the first page, about the wandering poles of geologic history, and the drumskins of continental plates in perpetual basso profondo concussion. Big and small, all things conspire to make music.

2 Comments

Filed under Marginalia

2 responses to “Marginalia, no.202

  1. My favorite McPhee book is In the Highlands and Islands, also published (here in the states) as The Crofter and the Laird. I read it every year.

  2. Ian Wolcott

    I’ll keep an eye out for it.

Leave a Reply

