Marginalia, no.178

But he did not know how to go about being insulted.

~ Misreading from Stendhal’s The Red and the Black

In fact, the final word is “insulting.” I only discovered my mistake after I’d spent a minute reflecting that while Julien seems perfectly capable of feeling insulted there is oftentimes a sort of public performance involved in being insulted. That is, one can act out the part of an insulted person well or not so well. Haven’t I observed myself in the role several times and afterwards judged my own performance? Yes, I thought, the mononymous Frenchman’s a keen one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marginalia

Leave a Reply

