Marginalia, no.159

‘The earth can crack and fire come down from heaven for all I care – that sort of thing doesn’t disturb me – but I do not like to be put into a ridiculous situation.  It isn’t dignified for a philosopher.’

~ Tove Jansson, Finn Family Moomintroll

I explain to my children that Muskrat is a poor philosopher. On the contrary, to cherish your humiliations is to disarm your own worst enemy. Recite them alone and in company until you can laugh without cringing. Presto – you are free.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marginalia

Leave a Reply

