Marginalia, no.143

I came to the conclusion that people who went to evening classes were all more or less odd.  It was unnatural to want to acquire knowledge after working hours.

~ Barbara Pym, A Glass of Blessings

In the late ‘90s I attended evening classes in Homeric Greek.  The instructor, who also taught Latin, lived with his partner in the building next door to ours.  He was a soft-spoken person with very fine fingers and though he was only ten years older than myself his hair had turned a brilliant, premature white that distracted from his lectures.  At term-end parties he served cantaloupe balls wrapped in prosciutto and complained that it was no use converting to Roman Catholicism anymore since they’d done away with the Latin rite.  I spent a year at the school pretending to be a character from Brian Friel’s Translations until I was finally overwhelmed by the full weight of the 150 forms of the verb Luo.  Perhaps I wasn’t odd enough at the time.  I like to think I’d do better now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marginalia

Leave a Reply

