Marginalia, no.135

Stay tuned for a conversation with the late Daniel Schorr.

~ Program note heard on National Public Radio

The posthumous adjective in this case suggests a séance is about to begin.  Of course, it was a recorded conversation.  But if I’m allowed a snarky comment (with no disrespect to the memory of Mr Schorr), please do not, when I’m dead, refer to me as ‘late’ -as if I’d been expected in the afterlife years before.  I don’t want to feel like I had been one of those oblivious houseguests that had overstayed his welcome among the living.  The thought of premature departure is just as bad.  Let me be ‘punctual’ instead.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marginalia

Leave a Reply

