Placebo Effect


‘When I got tired of talking to the other passengers, I thought about women. I frequently do this for hours without becoming bored; they are much pleasanter than sheep to think of when you are trying to fall asleep.  Thinking about women also makes you insensible to mild fright or minor discomforts.  Once I was sleeping with another fellow under a pup tent in a rainstorm in Tunisia and at about two o’clock in the morning he woke me up.  I said, “What’s up?” and he said, “The tent’s just blown away.”  The rain had turned to a cloudburst, and my blankets were soaked through.  I got into the front seat of a jeep and wrapped the wet blankets around me.  The top and windshield afforded some help, but the water lashed in from both sides.  I thought about women for four and a half hours and never caught a cold.’

~ A.J. Liebling, The Road Back to Paris

Image: Mata Hari, 1905

1 Comment

Filed under Levity

One response to “Placebo Effect

  1. How wonderful and true!

Leave a Reply

