Marginalia, no.69

Misunderstand me correctly.

~ Jean Sibelius, to his critics

I try to be charitable toward myself.  It’s more difficult extending that generosity to others when the possibilities of misapprehension are so entertaining.  Years ago, an employee at a hostel in Ireland winkingly confided to me that the little hamlet of Timoleague contained ‘sex pubs.’  I was scandalized; it didn’t seem that sort of place at all.  A stroll through town with a friend showed me my mistake: there were exactly six pubs in Timoleague, and not one of them was a brothel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marginalia

Leave a Reply

