Marginalia, no.40

The number of books is infinite.

~ Joseph Joubert

Not long ago my wife caught me reading a book she couldn’t recall me buying.  She accused me of making purchases on the sly and gestured to the double-stacked shelves to emphasize her point.  How do these things keep filling up otherwise?  I denied it.  Books beget books, I said.  They’re like rabbits.  You start with two or three and they multiply quietly without your much noticing.  Before long your little hutch has become a village, a city, a metropolis, a nation.

3 Comments

Filed under Marginalia

3 responses to “Marginalia, no.40

  1. Excellent! I definitely have the same problem and definitely will give my wife the same answer!

  2. Meghan

    Haha! I can certainly relate. After we moved I ended up with extra bookshelf space… needless to say, that has quickly filled up and books are now back to being double stacked.

  3. Part of my joy each weekend is checking in with my bookshelves to see what has appeared there in the last seven days. Too often they are titles I don’t want to read, but it doesn’t sound like you have that problem!

Leave a Reply

